Home » Patient Number 7 by Kurt Palka
Patient Number 7 Kurt Palka

Patient Number 7

Kurt Palka

Published
ISBN : 9780771071317
Hardcover
384 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Inspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to theMoreInspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to the present. A must-read for fans of Irene Nemirovsky, Hans Fallada, and Bernhard Schlinks The Reader.This vividly realized, masterfully executed novel is a window into a little-explored corner of history. Patient Number 7 is a story of love between an aristocratic young woman and the cavalry officer -- later Panzer officer in the German army -- she marries- between friends who help each other through the Nazi takeover of Austria, the war, and what was sometimes worse, the liberation- between a mother and her two very different daughters. But it is also the story of a nations darkest days, and its slow recovery during one of the most convulsive, violent periods of human history. Beautifully written, haunting, and ultimately redemptive, it is a work of great skill and great compassion.